BREAKING: CJN swears in 11 Northern, 7 Southern Appeal Court justices

BREAKING: CJN swears in 11 Northern, 7 Southern Appeal Court justices

The Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Tanko Muhammad, has sworn in the 18 judges who were recently elevated to the Court of Appeal.

The new justices of the Court of Appeal are Mohammed Danjuma (Niger State), Muhammad Sirajo (Plateau), Abdul-Azeez Waziri (Adamawa), Yusuf Bashir (Taraba), Usman Musale (Yobe), Ibrahim Jauro (Yobe), Abba Mohammed (Kano State), Bature Gafai (Katsina), Danlami Senchi (Kebbi), and Mohammed Abubakar (Sokoto).

Others are Hassan Sule (Zamfara), Kenneth Amadi (Imo), Peter Affen (Bayelsa), Sybil Gbagi (Delta), Olasunbo Goodluck (Lagos), Adebukola Banjoko (Ogun), Olabode Adegbehingbe (Ondo), and Bola Ademola (Ondo).

A drama played out when Justice Olasunbo Goodluck, a Christian, took her oath in the name of Allah.

Immediately, the CJN corrected her and she took it in the name of God.

Recall, that the Federal High Court sitting in Abuja on Friday had struck out a suit challenging the alleged marginalisation of South-East judges in the appointment of justices of the Court of Appeal.

Justice Inyang Ekwo had made the order while ruling on the notice of preliminary objection raised by the defendants in the suit by the South-East Cultural group, Alaigbo Foundation, against the National Judicial Council.

Justice Ekwo had stated that the foundation lacked the requisite locus standi to institute the action.


See also  FG arrests IPOB leader, Nnamdi Kanu
Staff Writer II

Staff Writer II

© 2021 PandRMedia. All rights reserved.
%d bloggers like this: